Mars Bars Get Veggie Status Back

Mars has abandoned plans to use animal products in its chocolate, and has apologised to upset vegetarians. The firm had said it would change the whey used in some of its products from a vegetarian source to one with traces of the animal enzyme, rennet. The Vegetarian Society organised a campaign against the move, asking members to voice their concerns to parent company Masterfoods. Mars said it became very clear, very quickly that it had made a mistake. In just one week, more than 6,000 people bombarded the company, which produces the Mars, Snickers, Maltesers and Galaxy brands, with phone and e-mail complaints

Share this Story
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Red Wolf
Load More In Food

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Photos from Flickr