Facebook’s New Features Secretly Add Apps to Your Profile

When a piece of software is automatically installed on your computer without your knowledge, it’s called malware. But what do you call it when Facebook apps are added to your profile without your knowledge? We discovered Wednesday that this is actually happening, and stopping it isn’t as easy as checking a box in your privacy settings. If you visit certain sites while logged in to Facebook, an app for those sites will be quietly added to your Facebook profile. You don’t have to have a Facebook window open, you don’t need to be signed in to these sites for the apps to appear, there’s no notification, and there doesn’t appear to be an option to opt-out anywhere in Facebook’s byzantine privacy settings

Share this Story
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Red Wolf
Load More In Rights

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Photos from Flickr