Poor Little Pluto is Kicked into Orbit

Millions of textbooks and wall-charts across the world will have to be revised, after astronomers yesterday declared that Pluto could no longer be considered a planet. Under historic new guidelines, the solar system has shrunk from nine planets to eight. Scientists decided that tiny Pluto was too puny for its own gravity to pull its orbit into a nearly spherical shape — the orbit is erratic — and so could not be considered a classical planet. Instead, it will be reclassified in a new category of dwarf planets. This leaves eight classical planets in the solar system: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune

Share this Story
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Red Wolf
Load More In Science

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

It’s pronounced GIF / Tom Scott

Is there a right way to pronounce it? ...

Photos from Flickr