New Heritage Sites Listed

Officials from UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee, meeting in the South African town of Durban, decided on eight additions to the prestigious list of protected sites. The sites are: India’s Valley of Flowers National Park, Thailand’s Dong Phayayen-Khao Yai forest, Japan’s Shiretoko Peninsula, Egypt’s Whale Valley, the west Norwegian fjords, South Africa’s Vredefort Dome, the Gulf of California in Mexico and Coiba National Park in Panama

Share this Story
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Red Wolf
Load More In Science

One Comment

  1. Matthias Ripp

    20 July 2005 at 2.56 am

    It is good to see the UNESCO World Heritage List grow!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Margaret & David Review ‘2020’

The Shovel asked Margaret Pomeranz and David Stratton ...

Photos from Flickr